Language

Baptiste Bachelart

Project Manager in Angola

A few words about yourself :

I am 27 years old, come from Picardy and I graduated with an engineering degree from the Arts et Métiers engineering school in France, before completing a Master of Sciences degree in Industrial & System Engineering in Florida.

I began my career as a project design manager in the nuclear industry before joining the PREZIOSO Linjebygg group, where I worked on a major maintenance project for an offshore oil Floating Production, Storage and Offloading facility (FPSO) in Angola. Today I am the Project Manager for this flagship project for the Group.

What does your job involve ?

As the Project Manager, I am in charge of all aspects of the project: production, people, finance, safety and quality.

Managing this project means running a team of 10 people onshore, and managing around 300 people offshore, for a contract worth around $450 million over 5 years.

What do you find exciting about your job ?

I like the challenge of being given a lot of responsibility at such a young age and I like managing and organising teams from different cultural backgrounds and trades.

Then there is the onshore and offshore work environments, with all the particularities regarding team management and the pace of life, as well as the variety in the work and the fact that I have to work closely with different support services in the company.

It is also about keeping my customer, my staff and my managers all satisfied; definitely exciting!

What are the challenges that you are up against ?

As I reach the end of the project and prepare to move on to a different one, my latest challenge is to make sure we properly close-out our responsibilities and activities. The disbanding of the team is a key stage in the project, as it is the final stage. I have to make sure that the handover of the project goes as smoothly as possible as regards the operational teams, the equipment and the facilities. My job will also be to organise the feedback process which really is a learning stage and a sharing and thinking process which will help us learn from our practical experience so that we can progress and develop our expertise.

How do you imagine tomorrow?  

I would like to gain even more experience by taking on new responsibilities on more complex projects in different situations, so that in the future, I can become an accomplished Operations Director.

Go back

© 2018 PREZIOSO Linjebygg All rights reserved | Legal notices | Sitemap | Conception & production by La Comm' Nouvelle

Sorry, item "sidearea" does not exist.

Baptiste Bachelart

Baptiste Bachelart

Manager de Projet en Angola

Quelques mots sur vous :

J’ai 27 ans, je suis originaire de Picardie et suis détenteur d’un diplôme en Ingénierie des Arts et Métiers en France. J’ai ensuite poursuivi un Master en Sciences à l’Industrial & System Engineering en Floride.

J’ai débuté ma carrière en tant que Project Design Manager dans l’industrie nucléaire avant de rejoindre le groupe Prezioso Linjebyyg ou j’ai effectué la maintenance sur un projet de plateforme pétrolière offshore FPSO en Angola. Aujourd'hui je suis le Manager de ce projet phare pour le groupe.

Qu'implique votre travail ?

En tant que manager de projet, je suis en charge de tous les aspects du projet : production, employés, finances, sécurité et qualité.

Gérer ce projet implique la direction d’une équipe de 10 personnes onshore, et environ 300 personnes offshore pour un contrat d’une valeur d’environ 450 million de dollars sur 5 ans.

Qu’est-ce que vous préférez dans votre travail ?

J’aime le challenge d’avoir beaucoup de responsabilités à un si jeune âge et j’aime manager et organiser des équipes avec des spécialités et des backgrounds différents.

Puis il y a des environnements offshore et onshore avec toutes les particularités de la gestion d’équipe et le rythme de vie, tout comme la variété des tâches et le fait d’avoir à travailler conjointement avec différents services de supports de l’entreprise.

Il s’agit aussi de garder mon client, mon équipe et mes managers tous satisfaits: C’est passionnant !

Quels sont les challenges auxquels vous faites face ?

Alors que j'atteins la fin du projet et que me prépare à passer sur un autre, mon dernier challenge est de m’assurer que nous clôturons correctement nos activités et responsabilités. La dissolution de l’équipe est une étape clé du projet car c’est l’étape finale. Je dois m’assurer que la remise du projet se fait aussi bien que possible en ce qui concerne les équipes opérationnelles, les équipements et les installations. Mon travail sera également d’organiser le processus de retour qui est réellement un moment d’apprentissage, de partage et de réflexion qui nous aidera à apprendre de nos expériences, afin de pouvoir progresser et développer notre expertise.

Comment imaginez-vous demain ?

Je souhaiterais obtenir encore plus d’expérience en prenant de nouvelles responsabilités sur des projets plus complexes, dans des situations différentes pour que je puisse devenir un Directeur des Opérations accompli.

Retour